miss1.jpg (25409 bytes)

Jennifer Hawkins

(Miss Australia)


June 1, 2004 –This evening, during one of the year’s most exciting live television events, a star-studded panel of judges chose Jennifer Hawkins, Miss Australia, as MISS UNIVERSEŽ 2004.

The 20-year-old delegate from Sydney, was crowned at the conclusion of the 53rd Annual broadcast on the NBC Television Network LIVE from Quito, Ecuador. The youngest of four children, Jennifer is a model and a choreographer with hopes of getting into television broadcasting.

Billy Bush
, Access Hollywood correspondent and actress/model Daisy Fuentes once again hosted the live telecast with two sizzling performances by the queen of Latin pop Gloria Estefan. The telecast panel was comprised of Petra Nemcova, Sports Illustrated supermodel; Bill Kancic, Apprentice winner; Vice President of Global Cosmetics and Marketing of Proctor & Gamble Cosmetics Anne Martin; the "perfect ten," Bo Derek; Wendy Fitzwilliam, Miss Universe 1998; music producer, Emilio Estefan; Jon Tutolo, president of Trump Model Management; supermodel Elsa Benitez, Jefferson Perez, 1996 Ecuadorian Olympic Gold Medalist; supermodel Monique Menniken and Katie Fitz, the Today Show, "You Be The Judge" contest winner.
Throughout the two-hour event, the delegates competed in three categories, including swimsuit, evening gown and interview. During these competitions the "Top Five" finalists were selected before the crowning. Amelia Vega, Miss Universe 2003, crowned her successor at the conclusion of the two-hour primetime telecast, before an estimated worldwide viewing audience of more than 600 hundred million in over 180 countries.

miss2.jpg (20419 bytes)


Final Results:

First Runner Up: Shandi Finnessey, Miss USA, will assume the duties of MISS UNIVERSE 2004 if the titleholder for some reason cannot fulfill her responsibilities.
Second Runner Up: Alba Giselle Reyes Santos, Miss Puerto Rico.
Rest of Top Five: Danielle A. Jones, Miss Trinidad & Tobago, Yanina Gonzalez, Miss Paraguay.
Rest of Top Ten: Catherine Daza Manchola, Miss Colombia, Nancy Soto, Miss Costa Rica, Susana Rivadeneira, Miss Ecuador, Tanushree Dutta, Miss India, Christine Straw, Miss Jamaica.