Delhi is the second-largest metropolis in India. Located in northern India on the banks of the Yamuna River, Delhi has the political status of a federally-administered union territory known as the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

Delhi is spread over an area of 1483 square kilometers. It has a maximum length of 51.9 kilometer and the maximum width of 48.48 kilometer. Out of the total area of 1483 square kilometer, 783 square kilometer is rural and 700 square kilometers is urban. There are three local bodies namely, Municipal Corporation of Delhi New Delhi Municipal Committee and Delhi Cantonment Board.

Delhi is located at 2861'N, 7723'E, and lies in northern India. It borders the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh on the south and Haryana on the west.